Otago, Southland Regions:

Holy Family School, Wanaka: See Nat Warburton’s interview on Seven Sharp www.facebook.com/sevensharp/videos/10155577618537268/

Kavanagh College, Dunedin: Kieran Kelly won first prize in the NEWZATS Cleveland Junior Award for Musical Theatre and Contemporary Solo Singing. Deputy Head Boy Niko Cockerill represented Dunedin as an ‘Aspiring Leader’ at a forum in Wellington. Sharon Cowie, Manager of the Canteen, featured on TV One’s Good Sorts on Sunday 8 July. See https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/new-zealand/good-sorts-sharon-cowies-school-canteen-fills-bellies-and-minds

St Peter’s College, Gore: Michelle Hendriks was part of MAC Group which won Overall winner at the New Zealand Gold Guitar Awards. Brianna Hedley was a member of the highest scoring Gore Country Music Club (intermediate) and Ailin Pekar was a member of the highest scoring Gore Country Music Club in the junior division. Bonnie Miller won all of her dancing events at the New Zealand Open One Dance Championships, and has now gained 46 New Zealand titles.

Canterbury, South Canterbury and West Coast Regions:

Catholic Cathedral College, Christchurch: Calais Werahiko won a competition run by the Catholic Commission for Justice and Peace with her essay Poverty in New Zealand. This has now been published in the May 2017 issue of Dignitas Humana.

Villa Maria College, Christchurch: Con Brio made the NZ finals of the Big Sing Competition being held in Auckland in August.  Ruby Williams won the senior section of the Re:ACTIVATE project organised by SCAPE art where students were given a brief and had to meet certain requirements in their design. “My design was of a live tree with its branch previously sawn off due to damage or disease. Replacing that branch was a wire mesh copy resembling the memory of the limb that used to be there. Christchurch City is similar in some regards; it fell during the earthquake and was completely changed, parts of it were gone but not forgotten.” Engineers have been tasked with taking Ruby’s ideas from the pages of her book and making it into a reality.

Kapiti Coast, Horowhenua, Wairarapa, Wellington, Nelson, Buller and Marlborough Regions:

St Oran’s College, Lower Hutt: Jessica Ye, Grace Allan and Harini Shanthakumar were selected to attend the 2017 Innovative Young Minds Programme. Victoria Pye was selected from over 200 international applicants for the Young Americans College of Performing Arts (YACPA), in Los Angeles.


Sacred Hutt College, Lower Hutt: Yasmin Kerr had her story ‘Earthquakes’ published in the Toitoi journal, issue 7.

St Mary’s College, Wellington: Lily Woodbury, Hannah McGinty and Sophie Kane represented Wellington Young Enterprise teams at the recent National Enterprise in Action weekend. They each received a $1000 Scholarship from Massey Business School and in addition Hannah’s team won the Innovator Challenge Competition which gave her a $3000 Scholarship towards a Business Studies Course at Massey University.

Taranaki, Whanganui, Manawatu, Rangitikei and Hawkes Bay Regions:

Wanganui Collegiate School, Wanganui: Penny Russell and Adele Thurlow earned Gold Awards in the Language Perfect World Championships qualifying them to apply for an NZIIU Student Exchange Scholarship.

Megan Poehler

St Mary’s Diocesan School, Stratford: Megan Poehler was selected by Royal Society Te Apārangi to attend the European Space Camp at the Andoya Space Centre in northern Norway.

Francis Douglas Memorial College, New Plymouth: Six former pupils played against the British and Irish Lions rugby team: Liam Coltman and Beuden, Scott and Jordie Barrett played in the All Blacks; Ricky Riccitelli played in the Hurricanes; and Teihorangi Walden was in the Highlanders team.

Thames Valley, Waikato, Bay of Plenty and Tairawhiti Regions:

John Paul College, Rotorua: The school was honoured by again being chosen to open the National Shakespeare Festival in June, with a compilation from Henry V. The performance received 3 major awards. Head Boy Gus Dube, was given special mention for his role as Henry V and was presented with the prestigious Assessors Award for the Most Charismatic Performer of the Festival.

Northland and Auckland Regions:

Oscar Thomas

Rosmini College, Takapuna: Kim Magtibay won first prize, a trip to Japan, in the New Zealand Japanese Poem and Calligraphy Competition. Oscar Thomas won the Forest and Bird 2017 Youth Award for his successful campaign to have the Kokako voted the 2016 Bird of the Year.

Carmel College, Milford: Nadia Braganza is ranked number 1 in New Zealand for girls U12 Chess. She represented New Zealand in the Chess Olympiad in Baku, Azerbaijan late last year and was the youngest girl ever to be in the NZ Women’s team. She has been selected for the Australian Junior Elite Training Squad (JETS). As a Ranger in WAGGGS (World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts) Isobella Nicholls went to the USA where she attended an Advanced Space Academy Camp.

St Peter’s College, Epsom: Jamie Laing won a national Chinese Mandarin speech competition with his five minute speech on the famous Terracotta Army, followed by a performance of the Chinese ancient art of shuttlecock kicking. He will now represent New Zealand at the World Chinese Speech Championships in China, in October.

Baradene College, Remuera: Received the Top School Award in the Play it Strange and Recorded Music NZ – ‘Who Loves Who Competition’ – for having three compositions in the top 20 out of all the secondary school entries in New Zealand. Robertanna Moa and Gillian Mascarenhas were selected into the National Secondary Schools Brass Band. Alice Langbrown was the winner of the Supreme Photography Dr Paul Timmings 3D Award at the Midland MRI National Youth Art Awards and she is also won the Pat Hanly Creativity Award at the Auckland City Art Gallery. Ianetta Solomon-Brown featured on Seven Sharp with her song ‘Let The’ in the final episode of Music Month. See https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/new-zealand/watch-kiwi-schoolgirls-beautiful-song-rallying-cry-unity?ref=emailfriend

Stella Maris Catholic Primary School, Auckland: Gabriella Pinkerton participated in the semi-finals of the NZ Junior Chef competition ‘Kiwi Kids Can Cook.’


More Congratulations

Congratulations to Nicholas Pole, the new Chief Review Officer and Chief Executive of the Education Review Office.


Congratulations to Principals New to Leadership in a Catholic School
  •  Carmel Jolly, St Francis Xavier School, Mornington, Dunedin.
  • Ange Edhouse, St Patrick’s Catholic School, Taupo.
  • Sarah Morris, St Patrick’s School, Inglewood.


Francoise Heenan, Assistant Principal in charge of pastoral care at Villa Maria College, is one of the Pasifika Education Grant recipients for 2017. This grant will allow her to continue to focus on the Pasifika mentoring project which she helped start in 2016 and in addition to this start her second project which will focus on identity and language.

At the official launch of ERO’s online resource Improvement in Action / Te Ahu Whakamua Principal Anne Miles and the staff of McAuley High School Otahuhu were congratulated as one of the four schools showcased in these videos.

Yvette Krohn-Isherwood, Deputy Principal Garin College, Nelson, has been elected as the president of the New Zealand Association for the Teaching of English.