• Holy Family School, Porirua featured in the NZ Gazette of 5 Dec 2016 with a two page article about the school’s new Family So’otaga programme which will enhance parent/school relationships.
  • Dr Kevin Shore, principal of Cullinane College, Whanganui, has had a research paper on ‘The characteristics and career trajectories of assistant /deputy principals in New Zealand secondary schools’ published in the Journal of Educational Leadership, Policy and Practice (vol31 (2)2016).
  • Holy Cross School, Miramar, had an article on the English language programme ‘Think, Talk and Create’ featured on the front page of the Wellingtonian, December 8, 2016 issue. The school also featured in the Ministry of Education ESOL Newsletter in an article called “Spolight on Schools” and talks about the wonderful and highly effective oral language programme that is run at Holy Cross School.

  • Jan de Koning, Holy Cross Catholic School, Papatoetoe worked with her class trialling the Ministry of Education’s new dual language reading books for new entrants (available in Samoan, Tongan, Cook Island Maori, Niuean and Tokalauan.) Sets of books can be ordered from “Down the Back of the Chair”, at no cost. Support materials are also available.
  • Iona Holsted, the newly appointed Secretary for Education. Iona has moved to this position from her role as the Chief Executive and Chief Review Officer of the Education Office.
  • Nicholas Pole is currently the Acting Chief Executive of ERO, having moved from his role as a Deputy Chief Executive at the Ministry of Social Development.

Congratulations to Principals New to Leadership in a Catholic School

  • Saira Boyle, St Mary’s School, Ellerslie
  • Ursula Hall, St Joseph’s Catholic School, Pukekohe
  • Christine MacDonald, St Pius X School, Titahi Bay
  • Chris Gladstone, St Joseph’s School, Nelson
  • Patrick Dowling, St Mary’s School, Blenheim
  • Bernadette Ewer, St Joseph’s School, Pleasant Point
  • Tracy Gundesen, St Frances de Sales School, Island Bay
  • Caroline Bush, St Joseph’s School, Orakei, Auckland
  • Pattie Ree, Our Lady of the Snows School, Methven

Otago, Southland Regions:

St Thomas School, Winton: The school hosted a visit from Prime Minister Bill English in February. The Prime Minister is an old boy of the school. Students were thrilled with the chance to meet Mr English.

Canterbury, South Canterbury and West Coast Regions:

Middleton Grange School, Christchurch: Leslie Eastwood-Williams has been selected for a 10-day national aviation course at RNZAF Woodbourne where he will participate in the navigation programme, representing Air Training Corps No. 38 Squadron.

Marian College, Christchurch: Saraya Martin-McKenzie represented Girl Guiding New Zealand in Pune, India. Saraya Martin-McKenzie and Mikayla Mackle both gained their Duke of Edinburgh Hillary Award gold medals.

Kapiti Coast, Horowhenua, Wairarapa, Wellington, Nelson, Buller and Marlborough Regions:

Holy Cross School, Miramar: The school was highlighted in two newspapers and in a recent article in the Ministry of Education’s Spotlight on Schools in a MOE Bulletin. The school has adapted an Intensive Oral Language programme, with wonderful improvement in the language skills of young learners, not just those who have English as a second language.

Holy Family School, Porirua: Deputy Principal Gina Lefaoseu, , won a SunPix award for leadership in education.

St Canice’s School, Westport: Principal Peter Knowles has been appointed leader of the Buller Community Learning.

Taranaki, Wanganui, Manawatu, Rangitikei and Hawkes Bay Regions:

Sacred Heart Girls’ College, New Plymouth: Cornelia Chan and Frances Chow both received Highly Commended for their Shakespeare-inspired poems in the NZATE Writing Competition. Niamh McCarthy was one of three winners in The School for Young Writers ‘Flash Fiction’ writing competition. Cheyanne Teka and Neve Pierce both gained a place in the New Zealand School of Dance for 2017. Helena Harvey gained a place in National Academy of Singing, Dancing and Acting.

Francis Douglas Memorial College, New Plymouth: Daniel Chow and Dominic Jacquemard represented the College in the 2016 National Secondary Schools’ Brass Band event.

Thames Valley, Waikato, Bay of Plenty and Tairawhiti Regions:

St Patrick’s Catholic School, Te Awamutu: Hannah Parsons was selected to appear in the Russian Ballet Company performance of ‘The Nutcracker’.

Campion College, Gisborne: Bryce Simpson has received the Kiwibank Local Hero Award for his services to the community. Denby Gallagher was runner up in the Royal New Zealand Navy’s Operation Neptune: Secondary Schools Creative Competition.

Northland and Auckland Regions:

Baradene College,Remuera: Charlotte MacKenzie was awarded the Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award. Antonia Brightwell was selected for NZO Ambassador Programme 2017. Ianetta Soloman-Brown took part in a radio interview about her experience in song-writing.

Sancta Maria College, Auckland: Vincent Brzozowski recently performed in the National Secondary Schools’ Brass Band, playing the trumpet. He also won the Newcomer Award at the Ronisch Auckland Secondary Schools’ Piano Competition.

Rosmini College, Auckland: Oscar Thomas recently appeared on TVNZ’s Seven Sharp promoting the Kokako for New Zealand’s Bird of the Year 2016. The Kokako won the Royal Forest and Bird Protection Society of New Zealand’s Bird of the Year.

St Mary’s College, Auckland: Phoebe Pierard, Ciara Rodenburg, Sophie Hansen and Antonia Robinson won first place in their division at the National Finals of the Future Problem Solving Competition. They were awarded the trophy for National Winners in the Presentation of Action Plan, Middle Division, 2016.

Kingsway School, Orewa: Teacher Caroline Watson featured in the 30 January 2017 issue of the Education Gazette for her term spent in Chile on a language immersion award.

Elim Christian College, Auckland: Year 11-13 students studying Chinese at the school have taken part in the first Chinese/Mandarin students’ trip to Taiwan. They presented songs and talks to schools, universities, historical and cultural events. They were outstanding ambassadors for NZ.

Keen to see your school or an individual you know recognised for their contribution to Catholic Education? Make sure your school newsletter is sent to our office ( and email us if you have additional items you’d like included.

Holy Trinity Catholic Primary School, Takanini, Auckland.

Opened for term 1, 2017 with a roll of 56 students.

New Name for St Patrick’s School, Paraparaumu

Cardinal John Dew, official opening of Our Lady of Kapiti School, Paraparaumu, 17 March, 2017.