Ashley Springer, Kingsway College, Auckland

Kingsway College, Auckland: Ashley Springer (Y11) has been selected for the NZSS U17 Girls Football team. Nathan Fullerton (Y8) won best guitarist ‘Killer Guitarist’ at the National Rockshop Bandquest 2018.

St Peter’s College, Auckland: Angus Nicholson (Y9) has been selected in the NZ U15 Lacrosse team. Niko Jones has been named in the NZSS Rugby team to play Tonga, Australia Barbarians and Australian Schools. Leo Ngatai-Tafau has been named in the U18 NZ Maori Rugby Team. Semisi Tapa has been named in the NZ U18 Rugby League team to play against Samoa.

Baradene College, Auckland: Kaatje Ymker represented NZ at the Perth International Gymnastics Championships. Her team won bronze. Individually Kaatje was awarded Silver in the WAG in the Level 7 + Bean Event which led her to be placed 3rd overall for her level, finishing with the bronze medal.

Liston College, Auckland: Michael Kennedy won 1st place in NZ in the Otago Junior Mathematics Competition. Michael scored 99%.

Carmel College, Auckland: Paige de Seymour (Y12) has been selected for the NZ Girls U18 Football team to tour the USA in 2019.

Sacred Heart Girls’ College, Hamilton: Simone Peers (Y11) received the inaugural GirlBoss NZ Enterprise and Business award. The event coincided with the commemoration of 125 years of Women’s Suffrage. Tysha Williams won second place and a prize of $500 in the National Competition about NCEA and her ideas will be included with those of other students in the ‘Conversation about NCEA’. Nikitia and Kiara Toia have made the NZ Development Softball U17 and U15 ISA Team.

St Johns College, Hastings: the school has won one of only four national Young Enterprise Teams excellence awards for their project that partnered students and prisoners in the design and creation of rimu bread boards. Read more. Students Kadyn Newport, Rhyva van Onselen, Shane McDonald, Brad Selwood and Ben Gardiner featured on national news recently, for their invention of a low-cost rain and flood monitor alert system. Read more.

Emma Kingi, Sacred Heart Girls’ College, New Plymouth

Sacred Heart Girls’ College, New Plymouth: Thea Irys Lacanaria (Y7) gained a High Distinction in the ICAS Writing Awards. Emma Kingi, 17, has organised Runway for a Reason, a fashion show to provide support for the Countdown Kids Hospital Appeal.  Every dollar raised will go towards special health equipment and projects. Click here for more.

Middleton Grange School, Christchurch: Annabelle Brownsword and Sun Woo Yi (Y8) were awarded High Distinction in the ICAS Science Awards.

Catholic Cathedral College, Christchurch: Charlotte Palmer (Y8) represented NZ in Karate at the WFK Oceanias and won a bronze for Kumite.

Marian College, Christchurch: At the NZSS Swimming Championships Kaylee Jackson won three gold medals, 100m breaststroke, 50m Breaststroke and the 100m individual medley.

St Kevin’s College, Oamaru: Sarah Dodd was awarded her gold Duke of Edinburgh Hillary award.

Kavanagh College, Dunedin: Jayden Apuwai-Bishop has been selected in the NZ U21 Men’s Curling team to compete in the World Championships. Kavanagh College claimed the girls and boys titles at the New Zealand secondary school curling championships in Dunedin. Girls team Temika Apuwai-Bishop, Emily Armstrong, Elizabeth Audas and Grace Apuwai-Bishop defended the title they won last year. The boys team was Stephen Xu, Will Campbell, Jayden Apuwai-Bishop, Hunter Burke, Nick Parata and Daniel McClymont. It is the first time a school has won both titles

St Brigid’s School, Dunedin: Saige and Kayla won the National Schools Aerobic team competition and were 1st and 2nd respectively in the individual competition.

St Hilda’s Collegiate School, Dunedin: Catherine Davidson’s poem Mother and Child was one of nine finalists in the National School Poetry Award. Isabella Aldrich was a winner in the ‘Make your Mark’ National competition. In the National Computer Science Challenge Holly Bissett, Meg Rogers, Tessa Sinteur received Perfect Scores; Anna Hutchens, Laura Milne, Kate McEwan, Victoria Avery received High Distinction. At the Robocop Nationals the school team, Laura Ring, Hannah Lawrence, Olivia Ollerenshaw and Victoria Avery, gained second place. In the Australian and New Zealand competition “Search for the Next Tech Girl Superhero” the team of Issie Robertson, Kiriana Hunter and Stephanie Post were named NZSS Finalists. The team of Eliabel Legrand, Evie Rose Grace and Rosa Smith earned the UN Award for Education. Olivia O’Neill has been selected into the Junior Tall Ferns Basketball Team to compete in the FIBA Asia U 18 Championships in India.

Con Anima, St Patrick’s College, Wellington

Congratulations to the following schools that received awards in the Big Sing National Finale 2018 Awards:

Bronze Awards

  • Schola, Baradene College of the Sacred Heart, Auckland
  • Con Anima, St Patrick’s College, Wellington

Silver Award

  • Con Brio, Villa Maria College, Christchurch

Recordings of some of the performances are available on YouTube, click here.